Home > Uncategorized > Something to Reflect on Today

Something to Reflect on Today

This morning as I pondered my future, I ran across a profound statement made a thousand years ago by Anselm of Canterbury, a monk in the eleventh century. It refers to the conviction of fides quaereus intellectum (‘faith seeking understanding’). He says the dialectical poles of theology include the dual principles of credo ut intelligam (‘I believe in order that I may understand’) and intelligo ut credum (‘I understand in order that I might believe’).

Things that make you go hmm…

For more information about Anselm, check out an article about him at http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/a/anselm.htm.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. The other jim
    July 30, 2006 at 12:19 am

    Hmm….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

